News In Brief


Belgium only country not to have nominated EU commissioner

06.08.14 @ 09:55


Belgium is the only member state not to have nominated an EU commissioner as it continues to struggle to form a government, reports Le Soir. Possible names include the current EU trade commissioner Karel de Gucht, foreign minister Didier Reynders or Marianne Thyssen, a centre-right MEP.

Stay in touch

Making sense of the EU. To make sure you don't miss out, we offer different options for staying in touch.

  1. RSS