5th Jul 2022

EU citizens to choose new euro coin design

The EU has asked European citizens to vote and choose the design of a commemorative 2-euro coin that will be available in the beginning of 2009.

The coin will be issued in order to celebrate the 10-year anniversary of the launch of the Economic and Monetary Union (EMU) and the creation of the European single currency – the euro.

Read and decide

Join EUobserver today

Become an expert on Europe

Get instant access to all articles — and 20 years of archives. 14-day free trial.

... or subscribe as a group

The design of the back of this coin will be selected by the people of Europe since the people of Europe are the ones who use it, said a commission spokesperson.

The website of the European Commission's directorate general for economic and financial affairs now includes a special "Commemorating Ten Years of EMU" section, in which citizens and residents of any EU state can vote.

They can choose from among five different designs pre-selected from a total of 42 designs.

In the end, one of the participants voting for the winning design will be randomly picked and given a set of gold euro collector coins worth "several thousands of euros", the commission said.

All of the proposed coins wear the symbol of the euro - €. One coin shows the Roman figure 'X' standing for ten years of economic and monetary union; or an expanding spiral of ten stars, symbolising "the solidity of the euro after ten years of economic and monetary union," read the descriptions of the coin on the contest website.

The coins have been designed by the European mints and this will be the second time that the same commemorative coin will be issued across the whole euro area – the first time was last year, with a coin commemorating the EU's 50th anniversary.

The voting for the commemorative coin design was launched last week and closes on 22 February.

The EMU was finalised on 1 January 1999, with the euro initially becoming the currency of eleven EU countries - France, Austria, Belgium, Germany, Finland, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Portugal and Spain.

Four other states – Greece (2001), Slovenia (2007), Cyprus (2008) and Malta (2008) have joined the euro zone since.

The euro is currently the national currency of some 320 out of 495 million Europeans.

Green crime-fighting boss urgently required, key MEP says

The European Parliament approved last week a non-binding resolution on illegal logging, calling to extend the EU public prosecutor's mandate to also cover environmental crime. The lead MEP on the file has called for urgent implementation.

News in Brief

  1. EU Commission told to step up fight against CAP fraud
  2. Ukraine needs €719bn to rebuild, says PM
  3. Germany records first monthly trade deficit since 1991
  4. Pilots from Denmark, Norway, and Sweden strike
  5. Report: EU to sign hydrogen deal with Namibia
  6. Israel and Poland to mend relations
  7. Von der Leyen: EU to set up Ukraine reconstruction platform
  8. Three killed in Copenhagen shopping mall shooting

Stakeholders' Highlights

  1. Nordic Council of MinistersNordic and Canadian ministers join forces to combat harmful content online
  2. Nordic Council of MinistersNordic ministers write to EU about new food labelling
  3. Nordic Council of MinistersEmerging journalists from the Nordics and Canada report the facts of the climate crisis
  4. Council of the EUEU: new rules on corporate sustainability reporting
  5. Nordic Council of MinistersNordic ministers for culture: Protect Ukraine’s cultural heritage!
  6. Reuters InstituteDigital News Report 2022

Latest News

  1. EU Parliament sued over secrecy on Nazi MEP expenses
  2. Italy glacier tragedy has 'everything to do' with climate change
  3. The Digital Services Act — a case-study in keeping public in dark
  4. Report slams German opposition to new child sexual abuse rules
  5. Is China a challenge to Nato? Beijing responds
  6. ECB announces major green shift in corporate bond-buying
  7. Ex-Frontex chief 'uninvited' from parliament committee
  8. Czech presidency and key nuclear/gas vote This WEEK

Join EUobserver

Support quality EU news

Join us