12th Apr 2024


Only seven EU states have 'advanced' stage climate plans

Only seven EU member states – Finland, Germany, Hungary, Italy, the Netherlands, Sweden, and UK – are at an advanced stage in the development of an "integrated national energy and climate plan", a European Commission document showed on Friday. The other 21 EU member states were still "at an initial stage". The Commission has asked national governments to send their draft national plans to Brussels by the end of 2017.

Read and decide

Join EUobserver today

Get the EU news that really matters

Instant access to all articles — and 20 years of archives. 14-day free trial.

... or subscribe as a group

UK-EU deal on Gibraltar only 'weeks away'

EU and UK negotiators said that a new post-Brexit settlement for Gibraltar was just weeks away from completion following four-way talks in Brussels on Friday (12 April).


Calling time on Amazon's monopolism and exploitation

As Amazon's founder Jeff Bezos just reclaimed the title of the richest person on Earth, its workers cannot even take a bathroom break under the pressure of meeting inhumane performance targets.

Resist backlash on deforestation law, green groups tell EU

European environmental groups have urged the EU Commission to stand firm on implementing the bloc's landmark anti-deforestation legislation — despite a backlash from governments in South America, Africa and some EU ministers.

Join EUobserver

EU news that matters

Join us