Wednesday

14th Nov 2018

Magazine

Brexit timeline - 'The clock is ticking'

  • The UK has been dragging its feet when it comes to clarifying its financial commitments, which is a key issue in Brexit talks. (Photo: European Commission)

23 January 2013 – Prime minister David Cameron in a speech at Bloomberg declares that he is in favour of an in-out referendum on the basis of a new settlement for the UK in the EU.

23 June 2016 – UK holds referendum on EU membership with a slim majority of voters, 51.9 percent, choosing to leave the bloc, while 48.1 percent vote to remain.

Read and decide

Join EUobserver today

Support quality EU news

Get instant access to all articles — and 18 year's of archives. 30 days free trial.

... or join as a group

24 June 2016 – Prime minister David Cameron announces his resignation.

13 July 2016 – Theresa May becomes UK prime minister.

27 July 2016 – EU Commission president Jean-Claude Juncker appoints Michel Barnier as the EU's chief Brexit negotiator.

8 September 2016 – The European Parliament, which needs to back the divorce agreement, appoints liberal MEP Guy Verhofstadt as its top Brexit representative.

3 January 2017 – Sir Ivan Rogers, the UK ambassador to the EU, resigns. In a letter to his staff, he warns of the dangers of "muddled thinking" in London.

4 January 2017 – Sir Tim Barrow, a career diplomat and former ambassador to Russia, is appointed as the UK's new ambassador to the EU.

17 January 2017 – Prime minister Theresa May gives her Lancaster House speech in which she sets out her government's priorities in the Brexit negotiations, including specifically leaving the EU's single market and customs union.

24 January 2017 – The UK's Supreme Court rejects the government's appeal in the Gina Miller case, ruling that the parliament must vote on whether Article 50 exit procedures can be triggered.

2 February 2017 – The UK government publishes its Brexit White Paper, setting out its strategy for exiting the EU.

13 March 2017 – The UK parliament passes the European Union (Notification of Withdrawal) Bill, later confirmed by the Queen's 'Royal Assent', giving the green light to trigger Article 50.

29 March 2017 – Prime minister Theresa May sends a letter to European Council president Donald Tusk to notify him of the UK's intent to leave the EU, formally triggering Article 50.

31 March 2017 – European Council chief Donald Tusk publishes draft negotiation guidelines for Brexit talks for the EU-27, setting out the key issues - encompassing citizens' rights, the border between Northern Ireland and Ireland and the financial settlement – to be discussed in the first phase of talks. Tusk reiterates that future relations and trade discussions may only begin once the key issues are resolved.

29 April 2017 – EU-27 leaders unanimously endorse the draft guidelines for Brexit negotiations.

22 May 2017 – The EU-27 adopts the negotiating directives, giving the green light for negotiators to start discussions.

8 June 2017 – The UK holds snap general elections as Theresa May attempts to consolidate the power of her Conservatives. She miscalculates and loses the Tory majority in parliament, leaving her with a minority government backed by Northern Ireland's ultra- conservative Democratic Unionist Party (DUP).

19 June 2017 – Brexit negotiations begin with establishing the timeline for talks, and forming negotiating groups.

17-20 July 2017 – Second round of negotiations take place in Brussels. Both sides say they are committed to the Good Friday Agreement, which has secured peace and stability in Northern Ireland. Negotiators set out to compare positions on citizens' rights. Barnier urges the UK to clarify its position on the financial settlement and its plans to secure a frictionless border between Northern Ireland and Ireland.

28–31 August 2017 – During the third round of talks, further progress is made on citizens' rights, but the role of the European Court of Justice in enforcing them, and the extent of the UK's financial obligations still remain outstanding key issues.

9 September 2017 – The EU Commission publishes several negotiating papers, including on Northern Ireland, emphasising that it is the UK's responsibility to propose solutions for the post-Brexit Irish border.

22 September 2017 – Prime minster Theresa May makes a speech in Florence to clarify the UK's Brexit position. Against the backdrop of hardline Brexiteers in her party, she pledges that no EU country would have to pay more or receive less from the EU budget as the result of the UK leaving the bloc, and that the UK would honour commitments it has made as a member. She also proposes a two-year transition period.

25 September 2017 – The fourth round of talks are held in Brussels a week later than planned to give way for May's Florence speech. EU negotiators were hoping to see a detailed commitment following May's pledges in Florence, but the UK still did not disclose details about its financial obligations. The UK offered to transpose the withdrawal agreement into UK law and ensure the UK courts can refer directly to it, but there was no agreement on the future role of the European Court of Justice.

9-12 October 2017 – The fifth round of negotiations again makes no progress on the key issues. No further rounds of talks were scheduled at the time, leading Barnier to say that negotiations have reached a "deadlock."

16 October 2017 – EU Commission president Jean-Claude Juncker hosts prime minister Theresa May for dinner, ahead of a crucial EU summit. The two agree that Brexit talks should "accelerate over the months to come."

20 October 2017 – EU-27 leaders agree that no "sufficient progress" has been made in Brexit talks to be able to move discussions into the next phase on future relations, including trade. But to show good faith, the EU-27 agreed to start internal preparations for trade talks, so that the EU is ready when those talks begin.

9-10 November 2017 – A new negotiating round kicks off among growing concerns that the slow pace of negotiations might result in a possible no-deal scenario. EU leaders will assess the state of talks again at the summit set for 14-15 December summit.

4 December 2017 – British prime minister Theresa May travels to Brussels in the hope of finalising the deal on the terms of divorce with the EU, but last minute objections from her political allies, the Democratic Unionist Party (DUP) over the Irish border issue prevent the agreement.

8 December 2017 – A deal is reached on the key divorce issues between the EU and the UK after DUP has agreed to a compromise text on the Irish border issue. British prime minister Theresa May and EU Commission president Jean-Claude Juncker announce the deal in the early hours of the morning in Brussels.

15 December 2017 – EU leaders agree that "sufficient progress" has been achieved on the key divorce issues with the UK and adopt guidelines to start negotiations on a possible transition period after the UK leaves the EU in 2019.

30 March 2019 – The UK is officially out of the EU.

This timeline was originally published in EUobserver's 2017 Europe in Review Magazine.

Click here to access EUobserver's entire magazine collection.

Magazine

Michel Barnier: The UK's best friend in Brussels

The EU's chief Brexit negotiator is an atypical French politician, with a love for mountains and Europe. He has been steering Brexit talks with a steady hand, and a deal could catapult him to the higher echelons of EU politics.

EU begins preparations for Brexit trade talks

The EU has launched internal preparations for phase two of Brexit talks, but a December breakthrough only possible if UK gives more detail on divorce issues first.

Magazine

Macron: Hegelian hero of EU history?

The election of the 39-year old newcomer injected new hope and dynamism. But the French president still has to find solid allies in the EU and deliver his ambitious agenda at home.

Magazine

In 2018, make Europe great again!

Is the EU back on track to make Europe great again? The fifth edition of EUobserver's Europe in Review magazine looks at the biggest events that shaped the EU in 2017 and prospects for 2018.

News in Brief

  1. Full text of Brexit withdrawal agreement published
  2. UK cabinet agrees Brexit deal after marathon session
  3. Czechs join other EU states in rejecting UN migration pact
  4. EU Commission to give verdict on Italy budget next week
  5. EU's Tusk is Poland's most trusted politician
  6. Finland prepares to step in for Romania on EU presidency
  7. Trump threatens tariffs on EU wine
  8. US defence chief backs Nato amid 'EU army' calls

Magazine

In 2018, make Europe great again!

Is the EU back on track to make Europe great again? The fifth edition of EUobserver's Europe in Review magazine looks at the biggest events that shaped the EU in 2017 and prospects for 2018.

Stakeholders' Highlights

  1. NORDIC COUNCIL OF MINISTERSTheresa May: “We will not be turning our backs on the Nordic region”
  2. International Partnership for Human RightsOpen letter to Emmanuel Macron ahead of Uzbek president's visit
  3. International Partnership for Human RightsRaising key human rights concerns during visit of Turkmenistan's foreign minister
  4. NORDIC COUNCIL OF MINISTERSState of the Nordic Region presented in Brussels
  5. NORDIC COUNCIL OF MINISTERSThe vital bioeconomy. New issue of “Sustainable Growth the Nordic Way” out now
  6. NORDIC COUNCIL OF MINISTERSThe Nordic gender effect goes international
  7. NORDIC COUNCIL OF MINISTERSPaula Lehtomaki from Finland elected as the Council's first female Secretary General
  8. NORDIC COUNCIL OF MINISTERSNordic design sets the stage at COP24, running a competition for sustainable chairs.
  9. Counter BalanceIn Kenya, a motorway funded by the European Investment Bank runs over roadside dwellers
  10. ACCACompany Law Package: Making the Best of Digital and Cross Border Mobility,
  11. International Partnership for Human RightsCivil Society Worried About Shortcomings in EU-Kyrgyzstan Human Rights Dialogue
  12. UNESDAThe European Soft Drinks Industry Supports over 1.7 Million Jobs

Latest News

  1. Asylum for Macedonia's ex-PM put Orban on spot
  2. How the 'EU's Bank' fails to raise the bar on accountability
  3. Knives out on all sides for draft Brexit deal
  4. Romania data chief defends forcing press to reveal sources
  5. EU to review animal welfare strategy
  6. Macron's 'European army': why is everyone talking about it?
  7. Merkel calls for 'real, true' EU army
  8. Italy defiant on budget on eve of EU deadline

Stakeholders' Highlights

  1. Mission of China to the EUJointly Building Belt and Road Initiative Leads to a Better Future for All
  2. International Partnership for Human RightsCivil society asks PACE to appoint Rapporteur to probe issue of political prisoners in Azerbaijan
  3. ACCASocial Mobility – How Can We Increase Opportunities Through Training and Education?
  4. Nordic Council of MinistersEnergy Solutions for a Greener Tomorrow
  5. UNICEFWhat Kind of Europe Do Children Want? Unicef & Eurochild Launch Survey on the Europe Kids Want
  6. Nordic Council of MinistersNordic Countries Take a Stand for Climate-Smart Energy Solutions
  7. Mission of China to the EUChina: Work Together for a Better Globalisation
  8. Nordic Council of MinistersNordics Could Be First Carbon-Negative Region in World
  9. European Federation of Allergy and AirwaysLife Is Possible for Patients with Severe Asthma
  10. PKEE - Polish Energy AssociationCommon-Sense Approach Needed for EU Energy Reform
  11. Nordic Council of MinistersNordic Region to Lead in Developing and Rolling Out 5G Network
  12. Mission of China to the EUChina-EU Economic and Trade Relations Enjoy a Bright Future

Stakeholders' Highlights

  1. ACCAEmpowering Businesses to Engage with Sustainable Finance and the SDGs
  2. Nordic Council of MinistersCooperation in Nordic Electricity Market Considered World Class Model
  3. FIFAGreen Stadiums at the 2018 Fifa World Cup
  4. Mission of China to the EUChina and EU Work Together to Promote Sustainable Development
  5. Counter BalanceEuropean Ombudsman Requests More Lending Transparency from European Investment Bank
  6. FIFARecycling at the FIFA World Cup in Russia
  7. Nordic Council of MinistersOECD Report: Gender Equality Boosts GDP Growth in Nordic Region
  8. Centre Maurits Coppieters“Peace and Reconciliation Is a Process That Takes Decades” Dr. Anthony Soares on #Brexit and Northern Ireland
  9. Mission of China to the EUMEPs Positive on China’s New Measures of Opening Up
  10. Macedonian Human Rights MovementOld White Men are Destroying Macedonia by Romanticizing Greece
  11. Counter BalanceControversial EIB-Backed Project Under Fire at European Parliament
  12. Nordic Council of MinistersIncome Inequality Increasing in Nordic Countries

Join EUobserver

Support quality EU news

Join us