Thursday

21st Nov 2019

Letter

Letter from Iran to EU parliament on US sanctions

  • (Photo: securityconference.de)

Honourable members of the European Parliament,

I write to you to express my deepest concerns over the increasingly egregious impact of the unlawful US sanctions on the lives of ordinary civilians in Iran. 

Read and decide

Join EUobserver today

Support quality EU news

Get instant access to all articles — and 20 year's of archives. 30-day free trial.

... or join as a group

You may recall that, following years of intense diplomacy, Iran and the P5+1 countries concluded the Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action (JCPOA) on 14 July 2015, subsequently confirmed by UN Security Council Resolution 2231.

In return for limits on Iran's peaceful nuclear activities, the P5+1 countries, China, France, Russia, the United Kingdom, and the United States, plus Germany, are committed to lifting sanctions and normalising trade with Iran. However, on 8 May 2018, US president Donald Trump announced the withdrawal of the US from the JCPOA.

At the ministerial Joint Commission in Vienna on 6 July 2018, the remaining participants recommitted themselves to 11 practical areas to keep Iran in the deal. Subsequently, however, US sanctions were reinstated in November 2018.

Prior to president Trump's revocation of the deal, the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) had confirmed in nine reports Iran's full compliance. Since then, while the US has callously reinstated sanctions, five further IAEA reports, reiterated Iran's compliance with the JCPOA.

At the same time, the 11 areas intended to keep Iran in the deal have yet to be delivered upon.

Quite clearly, the US sanctions are designed to punish all Iranians collectively.

The US treasury continues to penalise businesses and banks in Europe and elsewhere for violating its extraterritorial sanctions.

The treasury fraudulently claims that food and health are exempted from their sanctions. But this is, in fact, not true.

Following Iran's complaint, the International Court of Justice (ICJ) ordered Washington to lift the restrictive measures in October 2019 linked to humanitarian trade, food, medicine, and civil aviation. Washington refused to comply with the ICJ's ruling, arguing that this was a matter of national security.

Also, attempts by Switzerland to open a payment channel to facilitate the importation of key medical and food supplies, has not materialised because of the US delaying tactics.

The US secretary of state Mike Pompeo even told the BBC on 9 November 2018 that the Iranian "leadership has to make a decision that they want their people to eat!".

In a multitude of ways, US sanctions, and in particular banking restrictions, continue to constrain Iran's ability to import food commodities. As such, delays in food delivery are more frequent.

For example, in July 2019, Iranian grain vessels were stranded for weeks at Brazilian ports without fuel due to the US sanctions. This results in urgent food shortages and increased prices.

Such actions are clearly in violation of the international human rights law of the "right to adequate food", as stipulated in Article 11 of the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights (ICESCR).

Health standards in Iran are in danger of critical decline, due to a severe shortage of life-saving medical supplies. Banking restrictions cause delays in the supply of raw material for domestic medicines.

They also create shortages of advanced medicines and medical equipment to the detriment of patients suffering especially from cancer, multiple sclerosis, muscular dystrophy, and haemophilia.

Again, this reflects a violation of the ICESCR 's Article 12 of "the right of everyone to the enjoyment of the highest attainable standard of physical and mental health".

Iranian airline employees and Iranian passengers are being seriously put at risk by the revocation of civil aviation licenses. It has now become impossible for Iran to buy or lease aircraft, or to purchase spare parts.

Indeed, companies at European airports refuse to refuel Iranian airlines, even those not under the current sanctions. These are in blatant violation of the Chicago Convention on International Civil Aviation.

With regard to the delivery of humanitarian aid to Iran during the recent flood, Jan Egeland, Secretary-General of the Norwegian Refugee Council (NRC) said on 5 August 2019, that "the delivery of aid to Afghan refugees and flood victims in Iran is at risk because banks are refusing to transfer money to aid agencies due to fear of sanctions."

This inhumane approach is ominously taking a heavy toll, to which the American administration turns a blind eye. No doubt that the US administration's full-fledged economic terrorism on the Iranians amounts to "crimes against humanity".

We have taken due note of the EU and the European Parliament's principled advocacy in support of the JCPOA, with appreciation.

These policy statements, however, need to be complemented with practical measures.

Such actions will permit the Iranian nation to derive the benefits to which it is justly entitled by sticking to its part of the JCPOA.

Allow me to conclude by reiterating that Iran is a proud nation with a rich civilisation and a history of resilience. Our sovereignty will not succumb to any form of foreign coercion.

What we seek, however, is justice. Other partners of goodwill must shed indifference, inaction and mild expressions of regret in the face of one country which has reneged on an agreement freely entered-into by all the consenting parties.

History judges nations, and people, by the way they act when matters of principle are at stake.

Kind regards,

Author bio

Peiman Seadat is the ambassador of the Islamic Republic of Iran to the European Union.

Disclaimer

The views expressed in this opinion piece are the author's, not those of EUobserver.

EU urges US not to start war with Iran

Europe's top diplomats have said US actions risked triggering a conflict with Iran, as America makes plans to pour troops into Middle East in echoes of Iraq war.

EU countries turn screw on Iran

EU countries have tilted toward hawkish US diplomacy on Iran, blaming it for Saudi Arabia attacks and calling for wider disarmament talks.

Column

Don't lead Europe by triggering its fears

For a long time, Europe's strategic chattering class has been wondering what would happen if you took the US out of Europe's security architecture.

'A game of roulette' - life as a journalist now in Turkey

Turkey has more journalists behind bars than any other country in the world. The authorities seem to equate journalism with terrorism: everyone has the right to express themselves, but, in their eyes, legitimate journalism is a threat to security.

Stakeholders' Highlights

  1. Nordic Council of MinistersEarmarked paternity leave – an effective way to change norms
  2. Nordic Council of MinistersNordic Climate Action Weeks in December
  3. UNESDAUNESDA welcomes Nicholas Hodac as new Director General
  4. Nordic Council of MinistersBrussels welcomes Nordic culture
  5. UNESDAUNESDA appoints Nicholas Hodac as Director General
  6. UNESDASoft drinks industry co-signs Circular Plastics Alliance Declaration
  7. FEANIEngineers Europe Advisory Group: Building the engineers of the future
  8. Nordic Council of MinistersNew programme studies infectious diseases and antibiotic resistance
  9. UNESDAUNESDA reduces added sugars 11.9% between 2015-2017
  10. International Partnership for Human RightsEU-Uzbekistan Human Rights Dialogue: EU to raise key fundamental rights issues
  11. Nordic Council of MinistersNo evidence that social media are harmful to young people
  12. Nordic Council of MinistersCanada to host the joint Nordic cultural initiative 2021

Latest News

  1. New calls for Muscat to resign over journalist's murder
  2. Tusk pledges 'fight' for EU values as new EPP president
  3. Don't lead Europe by triggering its fears
  4. Finland: EU 'not brain dead' on enlargement
  5. The labour market is not ready for the future
  6. Parliament should have 'initiation' role
  7. AI skewed to young, male, and western EU, report warns
  8. US and EU go separate ways on Israeli settlers

Stakeholders' Highlights

  1. Vote for the EU Sutainable Energy AwardsCast your vote for your favourite EUSEW Award finalist. You choose the winner of 2019 Citizen’s Award.
  2. Nordic Council of MinistersEducation gets refugees into work
  3. Counter BalanceSign the petition to help reform the EU’s Bank
  4. UNICEFChild rights organisations encourage candidates for EU elections to become Child Rights Champions
  5. UNESDAUNESDA Outlines 2019-2024 Aspirations: Sustainability, Responsibility, Competitiveness
  6. Counter BalanceRecord citizens’ input to EU bank’s consultation calls on EIB to abandon fossil fuels
  7. International Partnership for Human RightsAnnual EU-Turkmenistan Human Rights Dialogue takes place in Ashgabat
  8. Nordic Council of MinistersNew campaign: spot, capture and share Traces of North
  9. Nordic Council of MinistersLeading Nordic candidates go head-to-head in EU election debate
  10. Nordic Council of MinistersNew Secretary General: Nordic co-operation must benefit everybody
  11. Platform for Peace and JusticeMEP Kati Piri: “Our red line on Turkey has been crossed”
  12. UNICEF2018 deadliest year yet for children in Syria as war enters 9th year

Join EUobserver

Support quality EU news

Join us